Loading... Please wait...

The Darkly Splendid Realm by Richard Gavin

RRP:
$16.95
Your Price:
$13.95 (You save $3.00)
Rating:
Availability:
In Stock!
Quantity:
- Scroll down for product selection information -





If you've felt eyes studying you from the shadows, it has seen you...

If crooked branches have rapped upon your window at night, it has summoned you...

If your dreams are plagued by half-glimpsed terrors, it has claimed you...

From one of the most gruesomely original voices in contemporary horror comes this book of thirteen nightmares. Richard Gavin will plunge you into underworlds of Hellish beauty; give you flight on Dread-Moths' wings; tend for you a thicket that blooms with feral children. More than a volume of horror tales, this collection offers visions of a realm whose splendours are as illuminating as they are dark.


"Richard Gavin pens tales of grimness and melancholy, of ghosts and things much darker than ghosts, and in a fashion that does honour to the genre's founders while blazing his own unique path." - from the Introduction by Laird Barron

"Richard Gavin is a major find; someone who can shake up horror's world with a whisper." - Hellnotes

"...disorienting shifts of perspective, outre imagery and twisted internal logic...Gavin writes in a style that suits the gothic horrors he conjures. Readers of antiquarian ghost tales and classic horror fiction will find this book a fine extension of those traditions." - Publishers Weekly (on Omens)

"Richard Gavin's tales are genuinely evocative of the strange and alien." - Ramsey Campbell

"...combines the meticulously crafted prose and occult overtones of such early 20th Century horror greats as H.P. Lovecraft, Arthur Machen and William Hope Hodgson, but with distinctly contemporary settings and conflicts...Gavin creates evocative tales that work on the imagination as much as they do on the nerves." - James Grainger in Rue Morgue

 

Editions


100 Signed and Numbered Limited Hardcover: numbered 1-100, 6"x9", bound in leatherette, signed by the author, stamped on the spine with the title and author's name, includes 80lb. natural vellum end papers, colored book ribbon, multi-colored header, 60lb. natural vellum stock and a dust jacket.

 

Trade Paperback: first 100 copies are signed by the author, 6" x 9", 12 point full color cover, 60lb. natural vellum stock.

 

About the Author

Richard Gavin has been lauded as a master of visionary Horror in the tradition of Algernon Blackwood and H.P. Lovecraft. He has authored the collections CHARNEL WINE (Rainfall Books, 2004), OMENS (Mythos Books, 2007), THE DARKLY SPLENDID REALM (Dark Regions Press, 2009), and AT FEAR'S ALTAR (Hippocampus Press, forthcoming). Richard has also penned criticism and various essays of arcanum. He lives in Ontario with his beloved wife and their brood. Visit him online at www.richardgavin.net

Share this book

Signed by:
Richard Gavin
Artist:
Harry O. Morris
Afterword:
Richard Gavin
Story count:
13
Page count:
188

Find Similar Products by Category

Write your own product review

Product Reviews

  1. Recommend foray into the new weird...

    Posted by Simon Strantzas on 10th May 2010

    What ties much of this collection together is the concept of what lies beyond. Gavin is fascinated with "the other side", with our travels there, and with what might return. Tales like "Following the Silent Hedges" and "The Astral Mask" are most obvious about it, but it also plays a bit in "Waterburns" and the wonderfully bizarre "Children of the Mound". Gavin's work is concerned a great deal with this topic, and his use of mysticism to convey it is rare in today's fiction. It harkens back to masters such as Machen and Blackwood, and is reminiscent of tales like Lewis's "The Tower of Moab" which suggest a deeper, longer history to events than anyone is aware. He's fascinated the dark world's intrusions upon our own. I honestly believe there is no one writing like Richard Gavin today, and it's only a matter of time before his contributions to the field of the weird are recognised and given their due.







Media Information | Retailer Information | Jobs | Advertising | Sitemap | Contact

©2013 Dark Regions Press. All rights reserved.
All trademarks referenced herein are the properties of their respective owners.